Musings and Strategies From the Teachers Next Door

Get It Together!

out_of_order

 

Have you ever had that summer where you just didn’t want to think anymore? One more standard, essential question, or project was going to send you over the edge? Welcome to the first part of my summer vacation.

This is hard for me to admit, because I do love teaching so much! But when you need a break, you need a break!

The end of the year was a whirlwind of activity. Awards programs, final grades, tests, retests, and the list goes on and on. Not just for my school family, but for my family at home as well.

I fear that I have allowed the hustle of constant activity overshadow my desire to change the way I view my classroom and my role as a teacher. And the desire we have to share awesome resources that will help transform your classroom as well.

So, for right now, I want to leave you with three little words that will change your math classroom this year. It’s actually a number and two words. 3 Act Task. It is thanks to the Summer Math Academy sponsored by the Georgia DOE that I met  Mike Wiernicki. He did a wonderful job presenting this new concept, and I am hooked.

This one concept alone will ensure that we address every SMP (Standards For Mathematical Practices) in every lesson! After all, these are the standards that will help our kids become problem solvers and mathematicians, which is at the very heart of the M in STEM!!

 

Comments on: "Get It Together!" (2)

  1. Thank you for attaching my name to this! I’m just one tiny cog in this Math Education machine! Hopefully, we can keep this going in the rest of the Summer Academies and more teachers will be introduced to the wonderful world of 3-Act Tasks and become as excited as you are! Keep up the great work in your blog!

    Like

    • What a different world the elementary classroom would be if we all faced our fear of the unknown and turned our classrooms over to the students! I am excited!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Exploring the MathTwitterBlogosphere

Fun missions & prompts, Always ready! Blogging initiation starts Jan 2017

Math Exchanges

Kassia Omohundro Wedekind

Number Strings

a community for number string design

Bridging The Gap

Connecting Research and Practice in Education

Math Minds

In Math, the Journey IS the Destination.

Questioning My Metacognition

Trying to be a better teacher

Ramblings of a Gifted Teacher

Ramblings from one Gifted Education Teacher to Teachers, Parents, and Advocates

Talking Math with Your Kids

Because children enjoy using their minds

Under the Dome

Thoughts about Teaching

theclassroombytes

Rethinking the modern American classroom

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Denise Gaskins' Let's Play Math

Helping families to learn and enjoy math together.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

