Musings and Strategies From the Teachers Next Door

As a teacher, I have always known that connecting the curriculum to “the real world” is important, but I am just now beginning to understand what a HUGE difference it can make.  I have begun incorporating 3 Act Tasks and other similar activities in my classroom – and I have found that they not only reveal rather large gaps in student learning of the general content, but also in thinking.  Today fascinated me.  I chose to do Robert Kaplinsky’s task “How Much is a 1/3 a Cup of Butter.”  We had great discussion about how 1/4c could be right in the middle of the stick of butter. We modeled how you could take 2 sticks of butter and line them up, so that it would be easy to see that the 1/2c is at the end of one stick, we took time to point out 1/4c, we talked about what we knew about fractions, and we even took time to discuss what we noticed when we looked at the 2 sticks.

Let me stop here and tell you that I really thought I had blown the whole lesson.  I was thinking to myself that I taught them too much and now it would be way to easy.  After all, these kids are gifted…young, but gifted nonetheless.  So imagine my surprise when one student labelled 1/3 cup right after the 3 Tbsp. mark and then justified her answer by saying, “Well, I see 1/4 cup and if you take away one Tbsp. then you have 1/3 cup.  I  asked if anyone agreed with her answer and every kid raised their hand.  So next I had the student point to where 1/2 cup is.  (Remember, it’s labelled at the end and we already had a rather lengthy conversation about it.)  They agreed it should go after the 2Tbsp. mark.

I kept going with their line of reasoning, but I told them I was confused because we now had two different places labelled 1/2 cup.  I then asked which was bigger 1/2 or 1/4.  One girl immediately said 1/2 is bigger, then she drew 2 rectangles and showed 1/2 on one and 1/4 on the other.  When I asked her how she knew, she said her teacher told her last year.

That was a TREMENDOUS moment in our classroom.   I realized how students can know how to solve a problem on paper, but have no idea how it connects to real life.    See, I assumed that if they could determine what fraction was larger – that they would be able to solve this task.  Little did I realize, that their understanding had not progressed beyond solving naked math problems.  That’s a good place to be for a time, and there was even a time in my career when I would have thought that was perfect. But the reality is….they can solve our traditional problems while lacking understanding.  It’s our job to take them from doing math to understanding math.  It’s our job to provide rich opportunities, expose gaps and not merely assume they get it.  It’s an exciting time to be in education.

Comments on: "You Know What They Say About Assuming…" (6)

  1. robertkaplinsky said:

    I love this. I actually took a picture of two sticks of butter, side by side. Would that have been helpful to have? If so, I can add it to the lesson? I am also going to link this post to the lesson too as I think other teachers will find it useful as well. Great job ladies!

    Like

    • Thank you! And yes, the picture would be a helpful addition – much better than my drawing or bringing in greasy wrappers. What an honor to have you link our thoughts with your lesson. I cannot thank you enough for sharing your work. It has changed my teaching! Powerful stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

      • robertkaplinsky said:

        I updated the lesson with the image and the link. Thanks again for sharing this. Your reflections help us all grow.

        Like

  2. robertkaplinsky said:

    Tried this lesson out for myself today with some 5th graders. Had many of the same things happen. So many different approaches to get the answer. Lots of fun.

    Like

  3. Melinda said:

    Interested to know how you had the kids work on the problem– individually, small group? Would you suggest heterogenous or homogeneous groupings?

    Like

  4. Sorry this wasn’t linked to my first comment. Here’s my go at how I will present it to the class.

    Like

Leave a comment

Exploring the MathTwitterBlogosphere

Fun missions & prompts, Always ready! Blogging initiation starts Jan 2017

Math Exchanges

Kassia Omohundro Wedekind

Number Strings

a community for number string design

Nicora Placa

Connecting Research and Practice in Education

MathMinds

by Kristin Gray.

emergent math

Lessons, Commentary, Coaching, and all things mathematics.

Ramblings of a Gifted Teacher

Ramblings from a Veteran Gifted Education Teacher to Teachers, Parents, and Advocates

Talking Math With Your Kids

Supporting children’s early mathematical development

Under the Dome

Thoughts about Teaching Mathematics

theclassroombytes

Rethinking the modern American classroom

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Denise Gaskins' Let's Play Math

Helping families to learn and enjoy math together.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging